Live Chat

Board of Directors

David Clayton, Non-Executive Chairman

DavidClaytonDavid Clayton was appointed Non-executive Chairman of SDL PLC in 1 July 2013. He joined SDL as a Non-executive Director in December 2009 and served as Senior Independent Director from April 2012. After a career in senior executive roles at a number of international technology companies he joined BZW where, after its merger with CSFB in 1997, he was Managing Director and Head of European Technology Research until 2004. David Clayton joined The Sage Group plc Board in June 2004 as a Non-executive Director and took up his executive role as Director of Strategy and Corporate Development from October 2007 to February 2012.

Adolfo Hernandez, Chief Executive Officer

AdolfowebAdolfo joined SDL as CEO in April 2016. Prior to joining SDL, Adolfo was CEO of Acision, the mobile messaging market leader he helped turn around prior to its merger to Comverse to form Xura, Inc. Before that, he spent four years at Alcatel-Lucent, with his most recent position being Executive Vice President, Global Software Services and Solutions, where he was a member of the Executive Committee, reporting to the Group CEO. In this role, he was responsible for all of Alcatel-Lucent’s multi-billion dollar software application solutions and services business globally. Adolfo also has a wealth of experience in Enterprise software and services built over the years in senior management roles at Sun Microsystems, Inc, where he was responsible for all aspects of its services business around the world and IBM Corp where he spent nine years (in London and Munich) in a variety of sales leadership and general management positions in the areas of eBusiness and Open Systems.

Dominic Lavelle, Chief Financial Officer

DomLavelleDominic Lavelle is a qualified Chartered Accountant who joined SDL in November 2013. Previously, Dominic has held senior executive and CFO roles within a number of private and publicly traded companies including Mothercare plc, Oasis plc, Allders plc and Alfred McAlpine plc, where his roles have encompassed commercial, operational and strategic responsibilities. He has more than 25 years senior financial experience and is responsible for all financial matters.

Chris Batterham, Non-Executive Director

chrisbatterham 1Chris Batterham qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Arthur Andersen and has significant experience in the technology based business environment, including the flotation of Unipalm on the London Stock Exchange. Currently working on the boards of a number of companies including The Risk Advisory Group, Office 2 Office plc and Eckoh plc as Chairman, Chris brings a wealth of experience in the strategic development of companies within the IT sector.

Glenn Collinson, Non-Executive Director

GlennCollinsonGlenn Collinson joined SDL as a non-executive director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee on 1 June 2014. He also sits on the Audit Committee. He is currently a non-executive director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee of Wolfson Microelectronics Plc, a non-executive director of Inside-Secure SA , publically listed in France, and holds non-executive director positions with other private companies. Prior to this in 1998 Mr Collinson co-founded Cambridge Silicon Radio and was a member of the board managing the company's growth through its listing in 2004, as CSR Plc, up until 2007. Over the last six years Mr Collinson has held non-executive directorships within the technology sector.

Mandy Gradden, Non-Executive Director

MandyGraddenMandy Gradden is an experienced corporate CFO with more than 20 years financial and senior management experience.  She is CFO of the media group Ascential plc.  Previous roles include: CFO of the private-equity owned Torex, the retail technology firm; CFO at the FTSE 250 business and technology consultancy, Detica; Director of Corporate Development at Telewest Communications; and Group Financial Controller at Dalgety. She began her career at Price Waterhouse, where, in 1992, she qualified as a Chartered Accountant.

Christopher Humphrey, Non-Executive Director

chrishumphreyChristopher Humphrey, BA, MBA and a Fellow of CIMA, is currently a non- executive director of The Vitec Group plc, appointed on 1 December 2013.  He was Group Chief Executive Officer of Anite plc from 2008 until August 2015 and their Group Finance Director between 2003 and 2008. He has held senior positions in finance at Conoco, Eurotherm International plc and Critchley Group plc. He was previously a non-executive director of Alterian plc between 2011 and 2012.

Alan McWalter, Non-Executive Director

AlanMcWalter 1Alan McWalter joined SDL as the Senior Independent Director on 1 March 2014. He sits on both Audit and Remuneration Committees. He is currently Chairman of Churchill China plc, and the Senior Independent Director at Dignity Plc. He also holds non-executive director positions with several private companies. Prior to this Mr McWalter has held non-executive roles in Trafficmaster Plc, Cattles Plc and Timeweaver Plc and been an executive director in a number of major companies including Thomson Consumer Electronics, Kingfisher and Marks & Spencer.
See the Executive Management Team at SDL